Giving Tuesday

Profile-ImageIt’s Giving Tuesday.

Research into individual charitable giving shows that giving is fundamentally a social act. A 2004 paper by a Robert Wood Johnson scholar at Harvard showed that the impulse to give is stronger when we see our friends or people we admire donate. A Red Cross survey last year found that we give when our friends do.

So many of my friends work for nonprofits, my friends volunteer at the Ronald MacDonald House every eight weeks, some lead Girl Scout troups, others at legal aid agencies, others as fundraisers for their neighborhood public schools (let that one sink in there, why don’t you?), local cultural institutions. I am humbled by their generosity because I can’t match it although I try.

It’s Giving Tuesday; I hope you’ll join me in supporting one of the groups trying to make the world better.

NPOs and Charities of me and my friends, in no particular order:

Leave a Reply

