Inertia Creeps

LinusintheAlleySometimes, I need to run an errand and I can’t decide: the bus or my bike? Then I realize, I just don’t want to leave the house. I usually end up choosing my bike because that generally means I’ll get there and back faster. Sometimes, I go with the bus because then I can read a book or listen to a podcast (I am not comfortable listening to a podcast, cycling in traffic). if I just can’t choose, it’s because I really don’t want to leave the house and generally, suddenly, it’s too late to rely on the bus and off I go, sometimes ill-prepared, on my bike.

Sometimes, though, I can’t decide not because I don’t want to leave the house, but because I don’t want to take the bus yet I’m not up to the endless aggressions of careless or angry drivers. Because I’m tired of the lousy infrastructure that disappears at intersections (where it’s most needed) and which is infrastructure in name only. Because it’s frustrating to get where I’m going and have no secure place to lock my bike.

I’d rather ride my bike–it’s efficient; it’s door to door; it carries me and my cargo without crowding the person on the seat next to me–but some days I can’t bring myself to do it because I’m just tired of the risks involved.

And that makes me very sad.

Leave a Reply

