Hold that Thought

I caught part of a story on Morning Edition today–something about cortisol levels indicating people were more stressed at home than at work and suggesting that “work is good for us”. Well, that certainly seems like a bit of dystopian propaganda there.

I mean, maybe people are more stressed at home because things at home matter more to them? My boss is quite supportive in the work environment and he seems to like me. Plus, he signs the checks that pay my bills, but I’m more concerned that my husband is happy with me than my boss is. Cause in the end, when I really need something, I’ll want Will to hold my hand, not my boss.

Work gives me plenty to do. Much of it meaningful, most of it interesting. But I’ve got meaningful, interesting things to do at home, too. If it’s really that “work is good for us”, maybe the people who are more stressed at home than work just can’t find meaning in their occupation without a paycheck involved?

Leave a Reply

