Sloppy Snowy Winter

Last week, but the day before, the rack was buried.

Last week, but the day before, the rack was buried.

I’ve been doing pretty well, riding this winter, despite it being the fifth snowiest winter on record. I’m lucky because my winter route is mostly along the Lake and the Park District keeps the path pretty clear. The bikes are a mess, and I’m grateful for a cellar with a floor drain so I can try to keep them clean. The building staff at work has even been doing a good job of keeping the bike racks reasonably clear.

This is a different bike rack at work, photo from this morning.

This is a different bike rack at work, photo from this morning.

Still, I rode the bus today–braving unshoveled sidewalks and deep slushpits at crosswalks. I was feeling lazy and not wanting to ride through those curb lane slushpits and not feeling up to risking sidestreets that may not have been cleared.

I walked through the park a bit, which was nice; it’s really beautiful away from the slushpits. Two doormen at one of the buildings near my office were using brooms to clear the slush from the lane closest to their doorway, no doubt to spare people being splashed while they hail cabs. It was archaic, and it was charming.

It also means that would be a good road for cycling.

Leave a Reply

