Everyone Needs a Hobby

I am in need of things to do on my day off that are not related to work. Not reading social justice books, not volunteering at law-related organizations, just something interesting and engaging and productive. Therefore, I’ve been sewing.

Public domain art.

Dressmaker’s dummy adapted to Edwardian “S-bend” fashion silhouette.

It has not been terribly productive with regard to finished garments, but it’s been really great in terms of knowledge gained. I have a couple dresses at the muslin stage, with at least one ready to go to the fabric stage, but I’m stalled. Partly because I don’t set enough time aside to sew and partly because I don’t really know what I’m doing. I have plenty of books and there are lots of tutorials on the internet. Taking that step from making and re-making a muslin to cutting “good” fabric keeps tripping me up.

I came up with a plan to get past that hurdle, and just the other day, I got a jacket in the mail which is undoubtedly the wrong size, but was deeply discounted and a really cute fabric. My plan is to try to tailor it to fit me.

So, in the end, I think my hobby is probably seeding chaos.

Leave a Reply

