Square root of sum of the squares . . . .

Today’s Freakonomics is very relevant to the last lecture I listened to in my purely for my own edification statistics course: Beware the Weasel Word.

I am, for the most part, enjoying participating in the Coursera statistics course. I think it’s a great resource and generally good practice to keep studying over your life. My two goals as a child were: have my own office full of leather-bound books (thus, I became a lawyer, when my year-long interview tour to land a job as a professor turned up lots of close calls, but no offers) and gather more degrees than my parents and sister combined. This has not happened. I have two degrees, which is merely half of our aggregate bachelor’s degrees.

As Oscar Wilde wrote in The Importance of Being Earnest, “If I am occasionally a little over-dressed, I make up for it by being always immensely over-educated.” Or so I always hoped.

Anyway, coursera and statistics. The course is interesting, but it’s extremely frustrating. I don’t know if it’s the nature of online learning; if it’s the design of this particular course, or something else entirely. Maybe, ultimately, I have never been a very good student, despite how much I enjoy being in class.

Leave a Reply

