Inexplicable

Earlier this week, someone stole the emergency tire pump off my bike, while it was locked up outside my office. My bike was otherwise unmolested. The six lights still attached; the first aid/patch kit still attached; the tires, the seat, the basket, the fenders, all in place and functioning. As I had just been engaged in an on-line conversation about best practices leaving gear attached to your bike, it was a little ironic to come out and find my pump missing. I chose to believe someone had simply borrowed it to fix a flat and was hoping to get it back to my bike before I left.

More likely, of course, it was a random, meaningless, nuisance crime–the pump was taken not by someone in need, but someone in malice or at least mischief. I wonder if there is any motivation to take it, other than “it was there and not locked down.” It’s not valuable–the pump will cost about $20 to replace, but I bought it on clearance for about $4–It’s not pretty, interesting or unusual. It has a pretty limited use.

I just can’t quite understand why you’d take it, unless you needed it. So, I suppose I’ll go back to believing someone had a flat and just didn’t leave a note. That’s rude, but more comprehensible than random, truly petty theft, completely meaningless crime.

Leave a Reply

